Kirkistown Round 2!

      No Comments on Kirkistown Round 2!

Kirkistown round 2 results from Wednesday 29th May.

Unfortunately it wasn’t a great turn out, possibly because of the bad weather that was forecast. However for those that did make the journey, there was some great racing, and the rain stayed away for the majority of the race.

In the senior race the scratch group rode hard, making up the 4 minute gap and ensuring one group approached the finished line together, James Ambrose from Bike House CC escaped off the front to take the win.

James Ambrose and Rachel White from NDCC both retained the leading jerseys.

Bike House CC have now taken the lead in the team prize.

The underage racing was excellent, with some great riding in all categories.

A big thank you to the 3 marshall’s that turned up to help run the race. It was much appreciated.

The next event is on Wednesday 26th June.

Kirkistown Race Series 2019

      No Comments on Kirkistown Race Series 2019

We have team up with Gentlemen of the Peloton to organise the Kirkistown Race Series for 2019.

We have introduced some exciting new initiatives for the league for this year. 

The race series is open to all clubs and teams. Although a race license / day license is required. 

Race Leaders Jersey: A race leaders jersey will be presented to the male and female league leader. 

Team Prize: Teams of five to be entered, with first three counting on each round. The leading team will be given pink numbers as recognition within the bunch. 

Custom built trophies: We are working with the SERC to design and craft custom trophies for the series winners in each category. 

Loyalty Raffle Prize: Open to all riders who complete all four rounds. 

Kids races from under 8 through to under 16

Goody bags and medals for all children at the end of round 4: 

Entry fee: Kids are free, Adults £5 (£2 discount available for NDCC and Ards CC members). 

Any questions please email the race organiser:

North Down CC’s Bokhara Night

      No Comments on North Down CC’s Bokhara Night

The most recent Bokhara Night was a huge success.  Not only was it great to see so many different aspects of the club represented, it was also good to see their partners there as well.  

It is so encouraging for the racing guys, especially our champion juniors, to see the support they have in North Down CC.  For most of us, cycling is not an expensive sport – with the coffee and scones being perhaps the most expensive part of our week!  However, for these young riders, with limited finances, the weekly expenditure can be high.

When one considers that North Down CC has three of the top junior riders in the country (including the Ulster Champion and the Ulster silver medallist), it underlines our responsibility to support and encourage them.  This support was very evident on Saturday night.

However, as well as supporting the racers, with several hundred pounds being raised that will supplement the racing budget, everyone had a great social night.  The food was abundant and it was up to the very highstandard we all expect from the Bokhara.  The fact that in helping the racers we were also able to have a great night and support one of our most loyal sponsors is also noteworthy.  Certainly the Bokhara is very willing to organise a similar night in the not too distant future.

NDCC’s Famous Bokhara Night

      No Comments on NDCC’s Famous Bokhara Night

Fed up with the mid-winter blues? Need a night out?  Look no further!!

On the first Saturday (2nd) in February the racing guys are organising a fund-raising Bokhara Night.  Now before you start thinking this is a night for racers, this is simply the racing guys organising a night that ALL the club can enjoy!!  It’s a way for them to say thank you for all the support they receive throughout the season and at the same time help raise some extra funds for this aspect of the club.  We promise that this will be a night which all can enjoy – even those who have no interest in cycling, so bring your partners, spouses and friends!  There’ll be no speeches, there’ll be excellent food and there’ll be live music!  Who knows, we might even be able to talk Shaun into singing again.

We’ve spoken with the Bokhara about the speed of service (which, because of the numbers has, in the past, sometimes been slow).  Joy has noted the most common dishes ordered on past Bokhara Nights and he’s going to prepare an assortment of Kormas, Tikkas  etc so that he’ll serve buffet style and so reduce any possible ‘wait’ time.  The cost of the evening will be £17.50 and for every cover ordered, the Bokhara is going to put £5 into the racing fund.  The whole night will kick off at 7.30 pm with a FREE ballot, so it’s a night not to be missed.

Show your interest via the facebook event now!

2018 NDCC Awards

      No Comments on 2018 NDCC Awards

On Saturday night, we held our annual awards nights at the Bokhara.
We had a good turn out and I’m sure everyone enjoyed themselves.
Belowis the list of the recipients this year.

Clubman of the Year – Gareth Boyle
Lifetime Achievement – Ruth McNally
Outstanding Achievement of the Year – Tom Henry
Volunteer of the Year – Sally Anderson
Sportive Rider of the Year – Damian Grimley
Open Rider of the Year – Johnny Webb
Senior Male Rider – Paul McArthur
Senior Female Rider – Gillian Orr
Junior Male Rider – Nathan Keown
Junior Female Rider – Rachel White
Kirkistown Series Champion – Shaun Carey
Best Newcomer – Jonathan Taylor
Most Improved – Gareth McBride

Champions Jerseys to be produced:
Johnny Webb for his Ulster Championship win
Tom Henry for his Irish Nationals Championship win.

2019 Committee

      No Comments on 2019 Committee

Following tonights AGM, please note the newly appointed Committee for 2019

Committee Position Name
Chairperson Micky Forbes
Vice Chairperson Mark Coyle
Treasurer Stephen Green
Club Secretary Phillip Dickenson
Open Race Secretary TBC
Club Race Secretary Stephen Cardy
IT Administrator Sam Carson
Youth Development Officer TBC
Press Release Officer David Totten
Safeguarding Officer Scott Armstrong
Safeguarding Officer TBC
Committee Member Claire Murnin
Committee Member Paul Kennedy
Committee Member Dawn Henly
Committee Member Stephen Roycroft
Committee Member Keith Humphries
Committee Member Sally Anderson
Committee Member Damian Grimley
Committee Member Paul Kirk